At their annual meeting on June 4, the members of the Fremont Area Community Foundation elected two new Trustees to the Community Foundation board.

Micheal Anderson and Dr. Lori Tubbergen Clark were elected to join 13 other Trustees who guide the organization’s operations, strategic direction, and grant allocations.

Anderson is from Hesperia and is the facilities maintenance manager at North Lake Correctional Facility. He has long been active in the community, serving as a school board member and coach. He has also been a member of the Fremont Area Elderly Needs Fund board.

“I’m looking forward to serving people and learning more about all the different aspects of the Community Foundation and what they do,” said Anderson. “My hope is that when I’m all done, people can say that Micheal Anderson served with an open heart and gave back to the community.”

Lori Tubbergen Clark was born and raised in Newaygo County. She was a teacher in White Cloud and Fremont before becoming the superintendent of the Newaygo County Regional Educational Services Agency (NC RESA). She holds a PhD in program evaluation.

“I am very supportive of the Community Foundation’s direction of strategic philanthropy,” said Tubbergen Clark. “I am passionate about program evaluation and hope to bring that expertise to the board. I also like the diverse perspectives and varied backgrounds of the Trustees. I look forward to learning from them.”

Anderson and Tubbergen Clark will fill vacancies left by retiring Trustees Robert Zeldenrust and Richard Dunning. Each served on the Community Foundation board for nine years.

Carla Roberts, Community Foundation President and CEO, expressed her thanks to the retiring Trustees and welcomed the two new members who will play vital roles in the organization’s future.

“We are so grateful for the years of faithful service given to the Community Foundation by Rob and Dick,” she said. “And we are excited to welcome Micheal and Lori. Their deep knowledge of the community and their expertise will further enhance our work in Newaygo County.”

At the annual business meeting, new officers were elected: Lindsay Hager, Chair; William Johnson, Vice Chair; Cathy Kissinger, Treasurer; and Dr. Robert Clouse, Secretary.