At their annual meeting on June 15, the members of Fremont Area Community Foundation elected two new trustees to the Community Foundation board.

William Leaver and Peggy Rossler were elected to join 13 other trustees who guide the Community Foundation’s operations, strategic direction, and grant allocations.

Leaver grew up in Fremont and had a 40-year career in hospital administration. He retired as president and CEO of UnityPoint Health in Iowa and he and his wife Jeanne returned to Newaygo County. They share an interest in supporting vulnerable families and helping to raise local people out of poverty.

Leaver noted that involvement in the Community Foundation allows him to build on his family’s efforts in a more organized way.

“I see the opportunity through Fremont Area Community Foundation,” said Leaver. “I have always been impressed by the effect the Community Foundation has on the broader community. I want to contribute in a positive way and to share my expertise. My goal is to be supportive in a way that’s helpful and moves the organization forward.”

Rossler came to Newaygo County in the early 1980s when her husband took a job as a school administrator in White Cloud. They raised their three sons in the area and Rossler worked in special education for Newaygo schools. She later worked as a teacher and consultant for West Shore Educational Service District.

“I have a heart for education, particularly for early and special education,” said Rossler, who will also serve on the Amazing X Charitable Trust board. “I am particularly interested in supporting families with young children as they provide opportunities to develop early literacy skills.”

Added Rossler, “I’m very honored and very happy to be part of this organization I’ve respected for so long. I look forward to having a voice to make a positive impact in all of our communities in Newaygo County.”

Leaver and Rossler fill vacancies left by retiring trustees Dr. Robert Clouse and William Johnson.

“We are so grateful for the years of faithful service given to the Community Foundation by our departing trustees,” said Carla Roberts, FACF president and CEO. “And we are excited to welcome Peggy and William. Their experience, expertise, and commitment to Newaygo County will be great additions to our board.”

Board officers were also elected at the annual business meeting. Lindsay Hager will continue as chair, and Cathy Kissinger will continue to serve as vice chair. William Alsover was elected as treasurer, and Lola Harmon-Ramsey will be secretary.